Books, fish, whatever

My treasure for the day, which will wander through my head instead of lyrics from Beauty and the Beast:

We shouldn’t teach great books; we should teach a love of reading.
B.F. Skinner

That makes me smile.  If I require the reading of great books during my children’s tender years, at best, they’ll graduate with the knowledge of a few great books.  If I can set on fire a love of reading…then I’ve opened for them the library of the world.  It’s the educational equivalent of, “give a man a fish, feed him for a day, teach him to fish, feed him for his life.” 

Logically thinking, this fallacy may be a false dilemma.  Is it not possible to achieve both?  What I walk away from this quote with is that I need to choose which goal is most important, most meaningful, most lovely.  Which will I pursue most enthusiastically, trusting that the other will follow naturally?

I don’t care if my children are reading “great books” or books they think are great.  If they keep reading, they’ll find great books.  They’re learning to fish.

One thought on “Books, fish, whatever

Leave a Reply

