The Seussification of Midsummer Night’s Dream

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1soV1UFVguw

An amazing play…and I’m not just saying that because my son and daughter performed it and my oldest son wrote the script.  Okay, that probably is why I’m saying it. 🙂

The kids performed with a group of homeschoolers in a student competition at the Scarborough Renaissance Festival in Waxahachie, and their Seussy scene from Shakespeare’s Midsummer Night’s Dream, and they took first place.  Even better than that – they had fun and are totally hooked on Shakespeare now.  My daughter said, “Shakespeare was a genius.”  Can’t ask for a learning project better than that.

One thought on “The Seussification of Midsummer Night’s Dream

  1. Wow! You’re right! That was amazing and I’m not just saying that because my daughters performed in it, or because I really like all the kids who were in it, or because I could see great strides made in acting ability and skills, or because it was an outstanding script written by my favorite playwright, or because they won first place, or because now there is a new way for kids to access Shakespeare, or because I got to teach a child to pout and whine, or because my kids are hooked on Shakespeare….it was amazing because the kids involved are amazing kids who are imaginative, inventive, intelligent and LOTS of FUN!!!

Leave a Reply

