Only playing with words (or is that playing with words only?)

I’m still a word nerd, and I love playing with words. I read this today and just thought it was a fun look at how our language works.

Choose not only your words, but your word orders carefully. 🙂

Look at how the adverb “only” can change the meaning of a sentence depending upon where it’s placed:

Only I poked him in his eye with my stick.
I only poked him in his eye with my stick.
I poked only him in his eye with my stick.
I poked him only in his eye with my stick.
I poked him in his only eye with my stick.
I poked him in his eye only with my stick.
I poked him in his eye with my only stick.
I poked him in his eye with my stick only.
So use your “only” choices carefully, pilgrims.

— from Rob Kyff…”The Word Guy”

2 thoughts on “Only playing with words (or is that playing with words only?)

Leave a Reply

