Connecting with kids

But (shhhhh) the biggest advantage of this experiment so far? I feel connected with my son.

I lifted that line from Rick Riordan’s blog (http://rickriordan.blogspot.com/2006/09/great-home-school-experiment.html).  He’s “experimenting” with homeschooling this year to educate his oldest son.  This line speaks to me.  Connecting with my kids was NOT a fundamental reason I began homeschooling.  I had more noble, more ambitious, more idealistic, less personal reasons, like giving them a more excellent academic opportunity and grounding their faith and knowledge in the Bible.

But over time, it has become more life altering and earth shattering for me.  I am connected to my kids.  What greater success in this life can I ever claim?

One thought on “Connecting with kids

Leave a Reply

