Is absent-minded professor still a viable job?

Are there still openings for absent-minded professors or has that fad passed hopelessly out of date?  I’m just wondering because I think I’m raising one. 

My last few blog entries have been examining the mind of my sharp, curious, experimental youngest son.  He’s quick.  Once his brain captures an idea or a fact, he never loses it.  He figured out the spelling of the word anachronism today, deducing the “chron” part because I told him it dealt with time and he knew words like chronic, chronology, and synchronous already.  (Yes, he’s already studying for next spring’s spelling bee!)  He also built a rocket out of legos after we read a chapter from a Neil Armstrong biography, making key improvements on NASA’s design.   On his way to bed, he stopped to examine the inner workings of a plastsic ball that changes colors when you toss it (something about hinges and catching air…) 

He’s creative.  He’s focused.  He’s…he’s wearing his shirt backwards.  I sent him back to his room to change.  He hadn’t noticed, and he didn’t understand how I could tell.  Maybe that kind of thing flies under his radar.  

He is still cute, though, in a Chicken Little kind of way.  Somewhere out there, someone is raising the perfect little girl for him who will admire his brains and help him button his shirt correctly.  Trust me, he needs you. 

 

2 thoughts on “Is absent-minded professor still a viable job?

  1. I can’t remember if the rumor about a genius owning 7 identical suits referred to Edison or Einstein, but the stated reason for wearing the same suit everyday was so not to waste any thought on something as unimportant as clothing. You’re probably just raising a genius.
    I read this article not too long ago…”Many managers spend too much time cracking down on the harmless oddball behavior of their most creative workers when they should be celebrating these individualistic innovators
    instead. Or so argues performance improvement consultant John Putzier in Weirdos in the Workplace (Financial Times/Prentice Hall).We found his ideas strangely appealing— and likely useful for any organizations wishing to cultivate
    more high-performing employees and a culture of innovation. Find out more about Putzier’s management methods at
    http://www.firstepinc.com.

  2. LOL! You have such an interesting and fun way to put things, I love it.

    That last line makes me think of the prayers I send up for the little girls out there who will some day be married to my boys. I am praying for little girls that I will not know who they are for years. But I rest in the fact that God knows. Can you imagine having your mother-in-law tell you I have been praying for you since you were little.

    Take care, Jean.
    Cheryl

Leave a Reply

